fbpx
Wikipedia

The UTC offset is the difference in hours and minutes between Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) and local solar time, at a particular place. This difference is expressed with respect to UTC and is generally shown in the format ±[hh]:[mm], ±[hh][mm], or ±[hh]. So if the time being described is two hours ahead of UTC (such as in Kigali, Rwanda [approx. 30° E]), the UTC offset would be "+02:00", "+0200", or simply "+02".

By convention, every inhabited place in the world has a UTC offset that is a multiple of 15 minutes but the majority of offsets are stated in whole hours. There are many cases where the national standard time uses a time zone that differs from the UTC offset appropriate to its longitude.

Contents

Main article: Time zone
World map of current time zones

A time zone is a geographical region in which residents observe the same standard time. Although nominally a new time zone is established every 15 degrees east or west of the prime meridian (meaning a one hour change in solar time), in practice local geographical or political considerations may vary its application. The most extreme example of this is time in China, which applies a single standard time offset of UTC+08:00 (eight hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time), even though China spans five geographical time zones.

The UTC offset (or time offset) is an amount of time subtracted from or added to Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) time to specify the local solar time (which may not be the current civil time, whether it is standard time or daylight saving time).

Daylight saving time

Several regions of the world use daylight saving time (DST) and the UTC offset during this season is typically obtained by adding one hour to local standard time. Central European Time UTC+01:00 is replaced by Central European Summer Time UTC+02:00, and Pacific Standard Time UTC−08:00 is replaced by Pacific Daylight Time UTC−07:00.

These cities have been chosen for convenience because they are sufficiently near the equator so as not to use DST. Where possible, cities near 0°, 45°, 90° etc have been chosen to best illustrate offsetting.
Some example cities
Location Longitude UTC offset When UTC time is 12:00,
local standard time is:
When local time is 12:00,
UTC time is
Honolulu, USA 157° 51 W UTC−10:00 02:00 22:00
Quito, Ecuador 78° 30' W UTC−05:00 07:00 17:00
Accra, Ghana 0° 12' W UTC+00:00 12:00 12:00
Mogadishu, Somalia 45° 20′ E UTC+03:00 15:00 09:00
Dhaka, Bangladesh 90° 23′ E UTC+06:00 18:00 06:00
Alice Springs, Australia 133° 52′ E UTC+09:30 21:30 02:30
Suva, Fiji 178° 27′ E UTC+12:00 00:00 00:00
  • ISO 8601 – international standard for representing dates and times.

UTC offset Article Talk Language Watch Edit 160 160 Redirected from Time offset The UTC offset is the difference in hours and minutes between Coordinated Universal Time UTC and local solar time at a particular place This difference is expressed with respect to UTC and is generally shown in the format hh mm hh mm or hh So if the time being described is two hours ahead of UTC such as in Kigali Rwanda approx 30 E the UTC offset would be 02 00 0200 or simply 02 By convention every inhabited place in the world has a UTC offset that is a multiple of 15 minutes but the majority of offsets are stated in whole hours There are many cases where the national standard time uses a time zone that differs from the UTC offset appropriate to its longitude Contents 1 Time zones and time offsets 1 1 Daylight saving time 2 Notable examples 3 See also 4 External linksTime zones and time offsets EditMain article Time zone World map of current time zones A time zone is a geographical region in which residents observe the same standard time Although nominally a new time zone is established every 15 degrees east or west of the prime meridian meaning a one hour change in solar time in practice local geographical or political considerations may vary its application The most extreme example of this is time in China which applies a single standard time offset of UTC 08 00 eight hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time even though China spans five geographical time zones The UTC offset or time offset is an amount of time subtracted from or added to Coordinated Universal Time UTC time to specify the local solar time which may not be the current civil time whether it is standard time or daylight saving time Daylight saving time Edit Main articles Daylight saving time Standard time and Civil time Several regions of the world use daylight saving time DST and the UTC offset during this season is typically obtained by adding one hour to local standard time Central European Time UTC 01 00 is replaced by Central European Summer Time UTC 02 00 and Pacific Standard Time UTC 08 00 is replaced by Pacific Daylight Time UTC 07 00 Notable examples EditMain article List of UTC time offsets These cities have been chosen for convenience because they are sufficiently near the equator so as not to use DST Where possible cities near 0 45 90 etc have been chosen to best illustrate offsetting Some example cities Location Longitude UTC offset When UTC time is 12 00 local standard time is When local time is 12 00 UTC time isHonolulu USA 157 51 W UTC 10 00 02 00 22 00Quito Ecuador 78 30 W UTC 05 00 07 00 17 00Accra Ghana 0 12 W UTC 00 00 12 00 12 00Mogadishu Somalia 45 20 E UTC 03 00 15 00 09 00Dhaka Bangladesh 90 23 E UTC 06 00 18 00 06 00Alice Springs Australia 133 52 E UTC 09 30 21 30 02 30Suva Fiji 178 27 E UTC 12 00 00 00 00 00See also EditISO 8601 international standard for representing dates and times External links EditTime Service Dept U S Naval Observatory This standards or measurement related article is a stub You can help Wikipedia by expanding it vte Retrieved from https en wikipedia org w index php title UTC offset amp oldid 1093866952, wikipedia, wiki, book,

books

, library,

article

, read, download, free, free download, mp3, video, mp4, 3gp, jpg, jpeg, gif, png, picture, music, song, movie, book, game, games.